Cotton Blues

Oh my friend, I did it again,

God is singing in every trees

and I’m free, I’m free.

I stabbed the man, yeah,

so vain ‘n’ full of disdain…

‘coz he wanted me to bend

over fields of white dispair

and prick my bleeding scars.

So I ran, ran mad in my chains,

breathing the cold air

till my lungs blended

in the endless blue.

Oh brother, I did it again,

just sowed a little pain

to pick a bunch of stars

and make the sky my blanket.

God is in the rain, ain’t it true?

I swigged the night at the bottle,

and a bullet I heard,

the beats of ten thousands

pounding hearts

to lull my silent chest

and hustle around.

Tomorrow’s new dawn,

they say, for sure,

I’ll be hanged to the tree

and God is singing so pure

I’m free, I’m free.

——-

Amico mio, l’ho fatto ancora,

Dio canta tra gli alberi

e io sono libero, sono libero.

Ho pugnalato l’uomo

che voleva piegarmi

su campi di disperazione ovattata.

Correvo, correvo folle nelle mie catene,

respirando l’aria fredda

finché i miei polmoni si sciolsero

nel blu.

Oh fratello, l’ho fatto di nuovo,

ho solo seminato un piccolo dolore

per raccogliere un mazzo di stelle

e fare del cielo la mia coperta.

Dio è nella pioggia, non è vero?

Ho tracannato la notte in bottiglia,

e una pallottola ho sentito,

i battiti di decine di migliaia

di cuori pulsanti

cullavano il mio petto silenzioso

e il caos tutto intorno.

Nuova alba domani,

dicono, di sicuro,

Sarò impiccato all’albero

e Dio canta così puro

Io sono libero, sono libero.

Rispondi

